* Smokin' Original 1960 Blonde Gibson ES-330 from OK Guitars *

Discussion in '"Vintage" Instruments' started by sgt_steiner, Sep 2, 2017.

Tags:
  1. sgt_steiner

sgt_steiner Supporting Member

Massive thanks to Charlie Gelber at OK Guitars for helping make my dream of owning a legit vintage blonde Gibson ES-330 a reality.

[​IMG]

If you're not familiar with Charile (or his killer ES-335.org website) he's largely considered the foremost authority on vintage Gibson hollows and semi-hollows in the world, having owned, played or sold somewhere in the neighborhood of SIX HUNDRED of them. That's right, my friends, not a misprint :) I've been conversing with Charlie and following his site for a couple years now, and when I saw this listing late one night, I knew my ship had finally come in.

[​IMG]

One great thing about Charlie, he's about as straight a shooter as they come -- a man after my own heart. He ran everything down for me and with every detail my confidence grew. Was this, finally, gasp!, The One? Early '60's wide/thin neck profile. Monster screaming original P90's (9.2K bridge, 8.45K neck). Weigh = 5 lbs. 13 oz. (Hallelujah, yes!) Scale from 1 to 10, he estimated this beauty was a 9+. "Bright, lively and LOUD", was his description. "As good a 330 as he's ever had."

And this is coming from a man not prone to exaggeration. Then, of course, there were her looks...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]