snapping and popping

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by jzucker, Feb 5, 2006.

1. jzucker

jzucker Supporting Member

Just starting to get the hang of this. I'm trying to work on the triplet stuff. Any recommendations? I watched tomo's video from the tonefest but he goes a little fast through the techniques (thank goodness for Transcribe!

Any other sources?

2. Tim Bowen

Tim Bowen Member

The Tomo triplet stuff is very cool. I'm no expert, but I'll toss in. As I'm sure you know, much has to do with the percussive ghost notes that don't contain any 'pitch' to speak of.

For instance, take the bass line from Herbie Hancock's staple, "Chameleon", and insert a percussive triplet figure after the chromatic walk up resolves to the root, right before the 5th and b7 are played. In G7:

----------------
    ----------------
    ----------------
    ---------X--0-3-
    ----------------
    -0-1-2-3--X-----

I use either pick or thumb to get the low E string, and whatever other finger's available to pick up notes on the D string. 'X' of course indicates notes with no pitch. I use whatever fretting finger that played the last note of 'pitch' (in this case, the third), as the 'damper' (lay it lightly on the string, such that no pitch is produced).

3. jzucker

Thanks Tim.

That much I have down. I'm trying to figure out on the triplet stuff whether Tomo is doing it by using p m i on muted strings or if it's a combination of a muted thumb slap, left hand muted slap and another muted thumb slap or some variation. Probably both. Last night I was fooling around with both of those techniques and coming up with some cool stuff...

4. rh

rh Robo Sapien Noise Maker Gold Supporting Member

Slapping and popping: The new right-hand tapping?

More seriously:

MTS = muted thumb slap
    LHMS = left hand muted slap

So would a series of these would go

------ 3 ------ ------ 3 ------
    MTS LHMS MTS MTS LHMS MTS ....

Or more like a paradiddle