So, ever got grief for your pedalboard?

btjguitarman

Silver Supporting Member
bit of background to this story. I'm a worship and arts pastor, and lead from electric almost all the time, which means I have a PT2 that's not like tetris'd in, but is full.

One of my bassists kind of makes snide comments about my spaceship, mostly because he (admittedly) is intimidated by it. We had a guest preacher one week whose family are longtime friends of our church community, and her son is a guitarist. He knew said bass player and was chatting with him, and then looked at my board and says (the only thing he says all day to me), "I've played almost all of these pedals. You don't need most of this stuff. You just need a good delay pedal and a good amp." at the time my board was a tuner, Bearfoot Pale Green comp, greer lightspeed, suhr eclipse, SA Nemesis, Meris M7, and an MC6 into a Suhr Bella :facepalm

nice to meet you too dude

ChromeCrescendo

Back 20 or so years ago when I was in a band - heavily influenced by U2, I had a Digitech 2120 Artist and a few pedals on a board. One of the metal dudes at the rehearsal space told the bass player in the band I was in that if I needed all those effects, that I couldn't play - the bassist replied "I guess you don't have any pedals?" - metal dude replied "Well, only distortion, wah and compression" - bassist replied "Well, that ends that discussion, call me when you play without any pedals"

Oinkus

People that don't know anything about gear have always made stupid drunken comments in bars to musicians. Those guys that follow the plug straight in philosophy can be amazingly obnoxious when criticizing on your useless gear. I have heard some snide remarks at impromptu jams from the players that had to watch and weren't allowed to play. People are funny creatures.

tobereleased