So... for a Dumble clone kit...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Bob Simpson, May 10, 2008.

1. Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson Member

should I go Ceriatone or D'lite?

I've got the tools, knowledge and skills to assemble/mod either kit...
    It appears the money is similar...
    Parts quality?
    Buy USA?

Any ideas?

Bob Simpson

2. big mike

big mike Administrator Staff Member

D-Lite. great sounding amp.

3. kodecar

kodecar Member

I have no experience with the Ceriatone but I really like my D'lite a lot.

4. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member

The Ceriatone seems to have mods needed,,,see Jack Zucker's posts

5. crosse79

crosse79 Member

You can go either way - both Ceriatone & D'lites are great amps. I have not tried D'lites before though - but base my thoughts on what other forumers say about it.

6. fullerplast

fullerplast Senior Member

Either amp can sound very good and either can be tweaked to suit personal preferences. Note that the original D'lite did not include the jazz/rock switch or footswitchable OD and PAB while the Overtone has both, and also has the second FET input like the real Dumble.

Owning both however, and being able to play them both side by side with various speakers and guitars, I have to say I prefer the Overtone by a wide margin. It simply sounds bigger, better, and smoother to my ears. This is comparing the latest tweaked D'Lite to the stock Overtone. YMMV of course.

Another TGP member who owned both has this to say:

7. derekd

derekd Supporting Member

Not being a DIY guy when it comes to electronics, I based my decision on prices of finished amps and the various clips out there. The Ceriatone is what, half or less of what the D'lite is? They both sound like great amps, so you probably can't go wrong, but $3k+ vs $1k? Easy choice.

8. Sean French

Sean French Supporting Member

9. GP_Hawk

GP_Hawk Member

TGP=Get BOTH:D

Really, either one. Price can be a factor for some us though....

10. fullerplast