So much for experience......

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Dr. Jimmy, Mar 26, 2019.

1. Dr. Jimmy

Dr. Jimmy Member

I just lost out on being bumped up for a position at work that would be a no-brainer for me. I have 20+ years experience in this field but no degree, the person who got the gig: 23 getting his degree in June and absolutely zero experience apart from being an intern. I was told I will probably be moved into a similar position within a year because I will need to be trained in the meantime (the other guy needs to be trained as well, moreso than me because I already know a lot of the job, whatever....)

I have a gut feeling that when a better opportunity comes along (since this isn't exactly the type of job he wants) he will bail and when he does they'll look to fast track me, at which point my price goes up. In the meantime I'm just gonna come in, do my job and ride it out.

Needless to say, I am quite ticked over the whole thing......

shane8, Scrapperz, FiestaRed and 4 others like this.
  2. QRSS

QRSS brutalist

sucks. show him nothing

Scrapperz and B Money like this.
  3. PLX

PLX MENSA member, Astronaut, Dated Your Mom Once Gold Supporting Member

The scary part about this story is that Jimmy is a Doctor - with no degree. :eek:

EarleG, rickcard71, shane8 and 21 others like this.
  4. GuitarKidd

GuitarKidd Member

I know how you feel and so sorry for that. It's very frustrating. I'm going through a somewhat similar job experience and trying to find another job.

Back in 2002 I joined a very large company as a contractor. I was hired in a year later. 13 months after that I was outsourced... Dammit man. Then I stayed cause it was a good gig, decent pay. My wife at the time also worked for the same company, but she was able to remain a direct hire. She also went back to school.