1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

So what do you do when you realize you have enough guitars???

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Blingdogg, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Blingdogg

Blingdogg Member

I realized I have enough, and I don't know what to do now lol. Let me explain:

Up until last year I owned one guitar. Now, in 2009 I'm the proud owner of 6 (they're listed in my sig), which I try to play regularly. But for playing 1 hour per day, maybe a bit longer on the weekends, I feel like I don't have time to play even the ones I have now, much less if I bought a Les Paul and SG, two guitars I've wanted for some time.

So I decided that for just a hobby, 6 guitars is enough, so that I can keep them in regular rotation.

But now I just feel......empty. lol I dunno if that's the word, but I feel like I got nothing to do now. I love playing guitar, and I'm a guitarist not a collector, but with no more guitars to GAS over or save up for, it's like I'm bored with playing the ones I got. Either bored, or I spend too much time thinking about "Should I play the Strat today, or the Tele, or the..." Sometimes I think about that, or tweaking my tones, more than I actually play.

What I'm trying to say is have any of you gone through this phase, when you got all the gear you need, and realize your interest in playing is kinda low compared to before? What have you done to fix that? Do you think this is a sign of being more of a GAS-addict/thrill of the hunt person rather than a guitarist?

2. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member

I'll let you know if it ever happens.

3. Tidewater Custom Shop

Tidewater Custom Shop Performance Enhancing Guitarworks Supporting Member

A 6 pack is my holding point (although I have 7 now). I've found it's good to move to amps and effects... and quality upgrades for the guitars I have now. Tone experimentation is my latest GAS.

4. steven.rogers