So what would happen...

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by webs, Oct 5, 2006.

1. webs

webs Supporting Member

...If I put a 12AT7 without matched sections in the trem spot of a DRRI? The tremolo is shot and I have an AT lying around but I don't know if it's matched or not. Is it ok to throw it in to see if it will work?

Also, I can't for the life of me find a schematic of this amp. Anybody want to hook a brother up? At least a tube diagram....anything...:AOK

2. brad347

brad347 Member

you dont need matched triodes for the trem tube. Only one section is used IIRC and in any case, the tube itself is not in the audio path at all, it is only an oscillator. It's the best place for your cheapest, most microphonic, worst sounding tube. An AT7 would probably work fine and definitely wouldn't hurt anything.

3. webs

webs Supporting Member

Great, thanks! Is it the reverb driver that needs to be matched then? I'm new to this kind of thing.

One more- Would an AX be ok in the trem spot?

4. brad347

brad347 Member

yes an AX would be fine in the trem spot. I think that's the stock tube for that location. The reverb driver doesn't have to have matched triodes. In fact, none of the tubes "have" to have matched triodes.

Some people like to get matched triodes for their phase inverter tube. I don't. I like the sound of a regular old "maybe mismatched a little" tube just fine.

5. webs

webs Supporting Member

Excellent, thanks so much.

6. tonezoneonline

tonezoneonline Member

All good advice.If you can't find a schematic for your amp at www.mrgearhead.com email me and I'll send you one.

7. brad347

brad347 Member

This is my reasoning too but I wasn't going to go into it. Too lazy. Thanks! :AOK