So, who really needs reverb anyway?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Docgab, Feb 12, 2008.

1. Docgab

Docgab Member

I have to admit, I have been a reverb junky for many years. I recently picked up a Two Rocky Ruby and a 1x12 cab. I play a Rocketfire relic Strat, Timmy pedal through the TR. DAYUM!

I am in heaven! I do not miss 'verb at all. This is the most organic sounding amp that I have ever heard. There are layers of sound. The most tonally balanced amp that I have ever played through. Anybody else had this experience?

2. JackButler

JackButler Supporting Member

Not me! For years I used it heavily.
    Some years back I got an amp that didn;t have it and kept trying reverb pedals, yuck. Finally I started playing w/o verb and after a short time realized I never needed it. Now I hate it! Some of the amps I go through are known for their awesome verb, it never factors in and I never use it.

3. PlexiFuzz

PlexiFuzz I know karate. Voodoo, too.

Absolutely. I just went through this with my new Fargen. I felt the exact same way you described above...

Then I thought, what would make this even better? Yup, some tasty reverb. So, I have a Dr. Scientist Reverberator pedal on the way.

I dig the verb.

4. M I K E D.

M I K E D. Supporting Member

Just bought a Top Hat Club royale and had the very same experience... I'm still running a little slapback delay but the need for verb is not there- it would just swallow up the complexity of the sound- like adding ice to beer.

5. bynt

bynt Member

Yeah, I've noticed that as my amps have gotten better, the less of it I use. Except with a Fender amp (which I currently don't own). I seem to always use it with them. Supers and Twins sound great without it, but I just can't NOT with them.

6. markom89

markom89 Senior Member

So, who really needs reverb anyway?

I, captain yellowshirt, I need reverb.

Having said that, when I played a Concorde, and some other rock amps that lacked 'verb, I didn't miss it either. wtf?