So why is it some amps take pedals better than others?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by johndara, Jul 29, 2005.

1. johndara

johndara Member

My Traynor YCV40 takes any pedal I put through it beautifully. On the other hand my Marshall 1959 Super Lead (non-master volume) won't take any kind of distortion or fuzz pedal. Can Anyone explain this?

2. leofenderbender

leofenderbender Supporting Member

Some amps have so much headroom that all a pedal does is sit on top of the sound - it never blends in with it. Nobody likes the sound of an amplified pedal.

3. Unburst

Unburst Member

Not exactly true, what about those Groove Tubes amps that had a ton of headroom that were designed to work with O/D pedals?

I'm no expert, but I think the input impedance has a lot to do with it.

4. drbob1

drbob1 Silver Supporting Member

I'm surprised about the SLP, though, mine sounds great with pedals. The problem is that you have to have the amp cooking so that it's distorting enough to round off some of the square wave from your fuzz into nice low order harmonics. With an SLP, that means earplugs and no neighbors/wife. Are you trying to run it clean and then distort with pedals? If so, you'll probably have better luck pulling two tubes and using an attenuator to throttle it down just a bit...

5. leofenderbender

leofenderbender Supporting Member

Input impedance?

The same guitar going through the same cable going through the same pedals at the same settings would have a fixed amount of input impedance. If what you suggest is true, if you plugged that very guitar into a dozen different amps they would all take to pedals in EXACTLY the same way because the input impedance is EXACTLY the same.

Sorry, that just doesn't add up to me.

6. zoooombiex

zoooombiex Member

i think he meant the imput impedence of the amp. you were talking about the output impedence of the guitar/pedals.