SOB (Snake Oil) string users-which type strings are you using on a particular guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by SoCalSteve, Jan 9, 2008.

1. SoCalSteve

SoCalSteve Member

I'm wondering if people use different types depending on the guitar.

Nickel or Rock on your LP, Strat or Tele?

2. devinb

devinb Member

I'm using the nickel on my Legacy...also using SOBs on my acoustic. I really really love them on my acoustic, don't play the Legacy enough to really have a great feel for them yet.

3. surfshack

surfshack Member

all vintage nickel 10-46 on all my guitars , 'cept i use 11-50 on my LP special.
    great strings!

4. Crunchyriff

Crunchyriff Member

I've been using the SOB Vintage "nickel" strings on my past 335, LP's and PRSi. I've been using the Vintage Formulas for about 5 years now. I found the Rock formulas a great string, but too bright sounding for my ears; that said, keep in mind that it's been 5 years of nothing but the vintage formulas... so I'm really used to the sound of these.

I have not yet re-strung my either of my Fender Vintage HotRod strats yet, but I hear the Vintage formulas sound INCREDIBLE on strats, so I anticipate nothing but good results.

5. BrownDog

BrownDog Member

For the past year and a half: vintage nickle 10s on my '58 LPRI and vintage nickle 9.5 on my Grosh RC. For me, the feel and tone are great!

With tone and oneness, Mike

6. kayaker

kayaker Member

I'd like to try SOB strings on my LP clone. I have Gibson Vintage Nickels on it now but I'm not happy with the big increase volume going from the wound to unwound strings (harsher, too.... I really have to back off the tone knob to lessen the effect). Are the SOB Vintage Nickels any different in that regard? ... or is this normal?

I suppose some of the issue is due to the fact that the buckers in this clone (Samick made) seem really HOT.

7. Speed_Racer71

Speed_Racer71 Member

are these sold in stores or online only?

8. madscientist

madscientist Member