Software for modeling, recording and learning

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by bm07002, Aug 30, 2008.

1. bm07002

bm07002 Member

OK, I've searched and read what I could about the popular computer guitar modelers....Guitar Rig 3, GTR3, Amplitube2. I'm new to guitar via the computer but I'd like to try out the modeling as well as some recording. I'm also interested in the "Speedtrainer" function in Amplitube, where you can loop and slow down phrases to help learn them.

Amplitube appears to have decent modeling and the "Speedtrainer" but I don't know about recording. GR3...good modeling and basic recording but not sure about a "training" function. Can anyone advise if one of these programs (or any other) best offers the functions I'm looking? If this goes well I can always upgrade to better software but for now I'd be glad to have your recommenations for a reasonable entry level program.

Thanks.....Bill

2. Glide

Glide Member

Hi Bill - Get a Digitech GNX4. It comes with modeling software.

It is a great floor programmable effects processor that will create just about any sound that you would want. There are simply line outs that go from the GNX4 and you can put a tube-preamp in your loop to warm things up if you like. I use it mainly for practice.

Here is a movie: http://www.guitarworkstation.com/intromovie.html

[​IMG]

A good thing about the GNX4 is that it uses sound presets that are basically a little computer file. People all over are programming their own presets using the X-Edit software that comes with the GNX4. They are then putting the presets up for anyone to download at the GNX4 website. So, if you want your guitar to sound just like David Gilmour's simply download the David Gilmour preset and double click it in the X-Edit software on your computer and it will send the message through the USB cable to the GNX4 on the floor and dial that preset in.

Learn More here: Create with the GNX4