sole proprietorship or llc?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by teefus, Mar 9, 2015.

1. teefus

teefus Silver Supporting Member

any accountants or tax advisors that can help would be greatly appreciated. i am a commercial photographer that is getting a lot of freelance work. i have been asked by several groups i work for to either start a sole proprietorship or llc due to their tax exempt status and the requirements of their organizations. as i understand it a sole p. is just getting an EIN from the irs and filing the state/county paperwork. an llc requires more paperwork and fees but would protect me more. does it make more sense to do the llc? can you start a sole p. and upgrade to an llc at some point? i am in indiana if that matters. thanks in advance for your help.

2. reade

reade Member

LLC offers some take benefits enjoyed by incorporated. I went LLC some time back. You don't need legal zoom to do this just call your state and ask for the form.

3. harpinon

harpinon Silver Supporting Member

You don't need to get an EIN if its just you with no employees. You should keep it super simple if possible. Think about your risks. I can't see you getting sued for taking photo's, but thats your call.
    LLC is cheap and easy enough if you feel you need it. But, the once sacred protections are being eroded by judges who dislike the constitution and there have been many LLC's who were sued and personal property was on the platter because a judge said so.

4. teefus

thanks for everyone's help so far. it looks like i can do an llc for $90 in indiana. thanks for mentioning not needing legal zoom. they wanted $160 + $90 filing fee. i feel a little better doing the llc. great to know i don't need an EIN since it is just me. very helpful.

5. loudboy

loudboy Member

If you incorporate you need to do a search for your name ($300+) will be unable to do your taxes yourself ($600/yr.) and in NY, you need to pay close to a thousand/year in corporation fees.