Solving a weight/volume problem

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Zimzaladim, Apr 26, 2016.

1. Zimzaladim

Zimzaladim Member

Hi,
    This is my first time posting on the forum, hope this is in the right place. I have a particular problem that I'm looking to get opinions about. I live in Angola, and have been jamming with friends for the last year with a Line6 Amplifi 75. It has been fine, but we had a gig and after pushing the amp at 75% for awhile it sounds like a mess. I'm looking to do a shopping trip this summer to get a new set up that I can take back in a suitcase.
    So here are my parameters
    I can't take anything too heavy, as its got to fit in a suitcase.
    I will be playing mostly with 1 or 2 other guitars on stage (+drums/bass)
    I will need to be able to practice at home without going deaf and creating chaos
    If I end up gigging, I cannot rely on being able to mic the amp
    I'll end up spending around $1000

Here are a two possible solutions
    1. I bring a small tube head like a Peavey Valveking (20/5/1 watts) or a Panama Shaman, and bring a high sensitivity speaker to build a 1x12 cab. Maybe a boss ME80 or PodHD500x for effects(skipping the modeling).

2. I bring a tiny solid state like the Quilter Toneblock 200 (4 pounds!) and a speaker to make a cab, and a multi effects board.

I haven't had a tube amp before, so I was hoping to make that work, but since most of the multi effects do modeling anyway, then perhaps I might as well keep it digital.

Also (and this is why I'm posting in amp/cab) if I build a cabinet that's going to run a model, do I need a speaker that is specifically for guitar cabs, or just any speaker that handles the appropriate range of frequencies?

If I go with a 20 watt tube amp is that going to give me enough clean headroom for outdoor gigs, or large halls?

2. 8len8

8len8 Member

In your situation I'd stick with a solid state or modeling amp.

How big is the suitcase you mention?

3. dconeill