Sonar LE question/problem

Timinator

Silver Supporting Member
I just got Sonar X1 LE which came bundled with the Roland Quad Capture I'm using. My problem is, when I adjust the input from my acoustic guitar with the Hi-Z engaged, or let the Quad Capture set it automatically, the input signal into Sonar is extremely low. I have the channel volume in Sonar all the way up and have the Gain in Sonar up pretty high also to get much volume. As a comparison, all the test tracks that came with it as well as song backing tracks I use are maybe 10x louder.

I'll admit it, I'm new to recording on a computer, I've always used a stand alone DAW. I've figured out a lot in a short time, but this channel volume is really bugging me. I've changed guitars, turned the Hi-Z on/off, changed to the input 2 on the Quad Capture, all with not much change.

Help Me OB1!

oldhousescott

Gold Supporting Member
What I can glean from Roland's site is that the Hi-Z switch only applies to the channel 1 input. It explicitly states that plugging a guitar or bass directly into input 2 will result in a signal that is too low. Do you have a fresh battery in your guitar, and can you test your guitar into an amp just to rule out problems with the guitar pickup/electronics/guitar cable?