Songwriting approach/ creativity

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by JMO, Sep 10, 2008.

1. JMO

JMO Member

this may be impossible to answer concisely; there are probably as many answers as posters, but i'm interested in hearing about your approach to songwriting. I'm pretty new to it, other than coming up with a few crappy riffs. I have been brought up learning lead and playing cover songs but for some reason i can't seem to write anything original/worth keeping it seems. any creative ideas

2. henry_the_horse

henry_the_horse Member

Strawinski used to say "In art, he/she who steals from only one other composer is an idiot, whereas he/she who steals from many is a genius".

A good exercise for composing is rewriting songs. Get a nice song you like. Rewrite it as you would have had the song be yours. Halfway through this task, stop rewriting, analyse what you did, i.e. style, common resources, melodic hooks. Then still applying all these and other influences you may have (excluding the original song's author), finish YOUR song.
    A good written song helps for a start. Tin Pan Alley songs are usually from this camp.

Good craft usually grows up off lots of rewritting.

Welcome to TGP!

Regards

Last edited: Sep 10, 2008
  3. Shiny McShine

Shiny McShine Member

Yes. There is a formula for good melody and it can be explained but it would take several pages. Once you get the formula wired, you can start breaking all those rules for interest just like with any technical foundation. The Faunt Conservatory in LA can teach this stuff.

Once you get all those elemental creative concepts, then it's just a matter of writing several hundred melodies and with a little luck some will stick with you. It's finally started happening for me after 20 years or so.