Sound Review: Stratocaster With Roland Micro Cube Amp. What Do You Think?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Jimmy25, Feb 15, 2012.

1. Jimmy25

Jimmy25 Member

Hey everyone! I spent a day today trying to put this together, especially for those who might be interested in this amp / guitar, hopefully you could find this useful somehow. With that said, here's a sound review going through ALL 5 different tone selections on my new "Roland Micro Cube Amp" and ALL 5 pickup selector switch on my recently bought second-handed "Fender 57 Reissue Maple Neck Stratocaster Made In Japan Since 1993".

Basically, here's how I did my record: Connect 1/8 inch to 1/4 inch adapter to amp's rec out > Connect 1/8 inch to 1/8 inch cable from amp to PC's Mic > Recorded with Audacity 1.2.6.

It's a very newbie simple setup for recording, and also I'm only a beginner, it's a messy bad playing, so please excuse me for any mistakes or not staying on beat. With a simple record setup like this, you might not be able to hear the true sound of the amp. And with a cube amp, you might not be able to hear the true sound of the guitar. But still, that's all I got for now, and it's just an idea ; )

BTW. Although the sound quality seems to get worst after recording, and also after uploading it to the internet. (Perhaps open the speaker loud / use a headphone to get the most out of it?) It would still be great if you could leave a comment on how you think about the sound of my guitar / amp. Also any criticism on my playing are absolutely accepted, I still have too much to learn!

CHEERS AND ENJOY =D

Fender Stratocaster With Roland Micro Cube Amp.wav

TIME Pickup Tone Selection
    0:00-0:33 neck Acoustic
    0:34-1:20 neck+middle Acoustic + Chorus Effect
    1:21-2:00 middle JC clean
    2:01-2:32 middle+bridge JC Clean + Delay Effect
    2:33-3:14 neck JC clean + Reverb Effect
    3:15-3:50 bridge Black Panel
    3:51-4:10 middle Black Panel + Reverb Effect