Sound Sculpture Switchblade vs DMC System Mix Plus

Discussion in 'The Rack Space' started by guitarplayer1, Dec 3, 2017.

1. guitarplayer1

guitarplayer1 Supporting Member

Hi all,

So .... I went ahead and purchased a Switchblade 8B as I found one for a really fair price .... I already have a System Mix Plus/ GCX combo that I've been using for many years. It won't get to me for a few days so I wanted to ask if anyone here has done a direct A/B of the two systems.

The reason I went with the Switchblade is the fact that it takes up less space than the 2 units it's replacing ... also heard very good things about the VCA ability in the unit. I realize it's a pure analog path but from what I'm reading it's got buffers on every input. Not sure I'll use the routing ability but it would be cool to run my Eclipse in series for some of the effects ..... Another benefit , although minor is the fact that I can ditch those two wall warts for the DMC stuff ! Every ounce counts !!!!

FWIW , I don't plan on ever using the direct outputs of the System Mix Plus so that's one feature that I know the Switchblade does not have.

My rig is very simple ... Egnater M4 , Fulltone Terc, Eventide Eclipse and a VHT power amp.

Baba Louie likes this.
  2. Baba Louie

Baba Louie Member

Yo man. Quit copying me.
    I also have an Egnater M4. (Well, it's the Rocktron version...VP-4)
    A VHT power amp. (Classic 2100)
    Eventide (H-3000), although, it's out on indefinite loan.
    System Mix (the small one).
    I don't have a TERC. I have a 1210. (Chorus units).
    I'm gonna file a cease and desist order.

3. Baba Louie

Baba Louie Member

I was looking at getting one of the Switchblade products, too. But, now that I see that you're getting one, I'm not gonna.

4. Baba Louie

Baba Louie Member

I was actually thinking about it, for pretty much the same reason you are: space savings.
    But, then a friend of mine told me you need a computer to program it.
    I don't have a computer.