Speaker break-in time question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Steely Diode, Jan 15, 2015.

1. Steely Diode

Steely Diode Member

I just installed a pair of brand new Eminence Ramrods in my Vicky 35210. I have a CD player hooked up to the normal channel through a stereo cable plugged into a 1/4 inch jack, and am playing CDs through it to break them in. How long do I have to do this? Even though I did a search, the answers varied from 8 - 40 hours! This is the second evening I've done this, so I now have about 5 hours playing time on them. Also, even though I covered the front of the cab w/ lots of this blankets, the sound is still pretty loud - especially the bass - and my wife is getting really fed up with it.:FM

Please help me TGP experts!

2. golfnut

golfnut Member

The tone king galaxy I just bought, I think the speakers in them were made by eminence. I've been playing this amp almost every night for about 2 months. Its definitely more toned down on the high end and much more musical. It took a couple weeks of playing about 2 hours a day for me to notice the difference.
    For me I'd never use anything other than me playing guitar to break my speakers in. Its too much fun to let a CD player do it.

3. Gretsch&Vox

Gretsch&Vox Member

4. teemuk

teemuk Member

Last time I researched the topic the opinion was that the time ranged from few seconds to several days ...that is, depending on who you asked.

One research, with actual measurements of tested drivers and all, concluded that most effects of break in take place in less than ten seconds and practically the most distinctive effect of it is resonant frequency shifting up or down a few hertz. Not anything clearly audible to speak of.