1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Speaker choices for Plexi-ish amps?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by TroyHamilton, Feb 3, 2008.

1. TroyHamilton

TroyHamilton Supporting Member

Anyone have any suggestions on speakers for a Plexi-ish amped voice? It's an 18watt Burriss Custom, and am probably going to go with a 1x12 cab... just wondered if anyone had any recommendations on what speaker might be the tastiest fit...

I know it's strictly opinion... but please make your opinion known. :)

2. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

I like Blues and the older Blackbacks for lower volume british amps.

3. Rumblefish

Rumblefish Silver Supporting Member

Email Jim at Southbay Ampworks.His Scumback speakers sound like the best old Celestions from the 60's.My life changed for the better when I got my Scumbacks.

4. re-animator

re-animator Senior Member

wait, so there's a person on the planet who wouldn't automatically scream greenback??

5. TroyHamilton

re-animator-

Are you saying that you think that's the obvious choice - or that it just tends to be the default choice that people make without exploring options?

I have to admit that for as many amps as I've owned, I've never experimented much with different speaker types - though I know they are just as impacting as the amp itself. Just looking to gain some knowledge from the years of tweaking experience here...

Thanks,
    TRoy

6. Braciola

Braciola Silver Supporting Member

That would be the Celestion 20 watt Heritage G12M..........mmmmmm :D

7. DICKIE C

DICKIE C Member