1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Speaker for BF Deluxe Reverb

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by johan, Jun 15, 2005.

1. johan

johan Member

Hi
    I have an all original 65 Deluxe Reverb which is a killer amp. Although the stock Oxford speaker is not as bad as it's reputation I think that amp deserves something better. What would you recommend? I find the amp a bit too shrill and not as warm/fat as I would like it to be. I have a stock 66 Super Reverb with alnico CTS and that amp is killer.

I use Tele's and Strat's (SCs) and some OD's (Zen, Tim, CJOD)

(sorry, I'm no fan of Celestion Blues)

2. raz

raz Member

...and they wouldn't be my choice for that anyway. I'm no expert on Deluxe's, but Celestion Blues I know. They're lovely speakers but to my ears they don't make the sound you want out of a Deluxe. Maybe I'm a traditionalist, but British-voiced speakers belong with British-voiced amps.

Seems to me most of the Deluxe afficianados I've heard from go with Jensen or Weber for speakers. Since you like the AlNiCo magnets on your Super, that's probably defining the "warm/fat" you want. Jensen and Weber both make American-Voiced AlNiCo speakers.

R
    A
    Z
    (Envying the hell out of your Deluxe)

3. johan

johan Member

:D

Some more pics for you...

http://web.telia.com/~u42235727/dr65/dr65.htm

Yeah, a Weber of some sort will probably be what Im looking for but there's so many to choose from.

Then there's the mighty Emi CRex :rolleyes:

4. MojoHand

MojoHand Supporting Member

I'm actually planning to do a “Deluxe Reverb Speaker Shootout” in the near future. I haven't amassed all the speakers yet so I can't make a recommendation. However, some of the top choices to consider are:

Eminence Red, White, and Blues
    Eminence Swamp Thang
    Reverend Alltone
    Weber 12F150

I'd be willing to bet one of those speakers would do it for you.

5. hasserl