• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Speaker Impedance Question

ganttmann

I was debating this with a tech at Protech (repair shop in Silver Spring, MD, where I used to be a bench tech and now work part-time doing ebay listings) and neither of us could find a logical answer. If you have two speakers, identical except for impedance - one is 8 ohms the other 4 ohms - and you plug them, one at a time, into the output of a solid state amp (tube amps have output transformers so I don't think this'd apply) would one be louder than the other? Theoretically, a 4 ohm load would allow an SS power amp to put out about twice the power. Would the 4 ohm speaker then be louder? I was thinking that a 4 ohm voice coil would have fewer windings and therefore need more current to move it in the magnetic field, which would make the SPL about the same for either driver.

Any thoughts?

Gantt

mark norwine

Provided that the ss amp in question has transistors that can handle the current associated with a low(er) load, then the amp will produce more power with a lower load.

More power is more power, period.

ganttmann

Ohm's law being what it is and the laws of physics being what they are I agree with that statement. So you vote for the 4 ohm speaker being louder?

Provided that the ss amp in question has transistors that can handle the current associated with a low(er) load, then the amp will produce more power with a lower load.

More power is more power, period.

mark norwine