Speaker Replacement Opinions (Weber & WGS content)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Lt_Core, May 18, 2011.

1. Lt_Core

Lt_Core Member

I just bought a very nice Avatar Contemporary 2x12 cab from a fellow TGP'r. However, the speakers sound a bit buzzy/fizzy/boxy at gig levels with a lot of gain through my Peavey Classic 50 head and Budda SDII 30, + pedals.

Currently it's loaded with a Weber Silver Bell & Weber Blue Dog (both ceramic 50 watt speakers). I'm not an expert but I don't think those are great speakers for rock music, in general, but maybe I'm wrong here. I've been looking into WGS Speakers like the Veteran 30, Green Beret or Reaper. I play a mixture of rock music from the 70's, 80's, 90's and 00's. I love a nice tight low-end for palm muting punk songs. I'm not playing metal, just classic rock to hard rock. I think the Veteran 30 might be the best bet for what I'm looking for.

I'll sell the Webers when I find the right speakers. Thoughts & opinions?

2. secretsoundz

secretsoundz Member

Webers aren't meant for rock? I use Webers (both Blue Dogs and Silver Bells) and play everything from classic rock to punk and metal. They sound great to me!

3. Sirloin

Sirloin Supporting Member

I was a doubter, but finally gave in and bought a Scumback H75 100 watter recently for a specific 1x12 need/application. Speaker is still in the break in period but it sounds great! Jim is great to work with as well. I understand that they are Weber speakers built to Jim's specs. I have owned a LOT of speakers over the years and it is certainly one of if not the best speaker I have owned.

4. Lt_Core

Lt_Core Member

Really? I'm somewhat of a speaker newbie. Always had Vintage 30's in my amps & cabs. Maybe it was more of the booming cabinet than anything else. Hmmmmm. I used the cab for the first time this past weekend and even our sound company didn't think it sounded great, at all. Used my same amps & pedals as always. Very fizzy & boxy for some reason.