Speaker sounds GREAT clean, crappy overdriven

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Gasp100, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Silver Supporting Member

I have a Scumback H55 (weber build) that I sent in for repair because it was crackling at medium to high volume. Now that it's back, the cleans sound tremedous even tremendously loud. But ANY overdrive I run through the cab/speaker sounds terrible. Ripping paper, super squashed and tight, just bad. Think of the smallest sounding, tightest G12H30 you can imagine and that's it.
    Does this need to be broken in because it was rebuilt, or is something else going on? I already have a lot in this speaker, don't want to invest more cash -- I will just move on.
    But I would think if the speaker was still messed up ANY tones would sound bad. The cleans are killer?

:huh

2. LowWatt

LowWatt Member

Interesting. What's the wattage of the speaker? What amp are you running into it?

3. musicman1

musicman1 Member

Its kind of happening w/me. Emi Swamp Thang sounds great clean and at any volume. Problem is my od channel now sounds terrible. Now that the spkr has settled in after a few gigs I have found that a TS and Rat sound really good but the Guvenor or any of my Boss od/dist sound terrible. Blues Driver sounds good. It seems to like tranparent ods or ones with a mid boost but not scooped ones.

After several hours of break in, you may need to go on a new od/dist hunt.

4. Gasp100

The speaker is 100 watts and I'm running a modeler into one of those EHX Magnum pedal sized power amps (44 watts).

5. sabby

sabby Member

Sounds like a tight speaker that needs to break-in.

6. kimock

kimock Member

You're getting lousy distortion from a chip?
    Must be the speaker.:bonk

7. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

:spit

8. BudLite

BudLite Supporting Member

:rotflmao:rotflmao

9. solitaire

solitaire Senior Member