Speaker Types & Cabinet Advice!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by asandman, May 8, 2008.

1. asandman

asandman Member

All:

I am new to the whole speaker types and details, hence this post. The band I’m in is hard to label however, the tones I like and what I am after could be defined as a mix somewhere in between Slash’s early Guns and Roses classic rock tones and Tool ‘s Adam Jones modern tones. I prefer “good” high gain tones. Not ice picky highs, or dumped mids metal, or big hair metal gain tones but fat harmonics, deep bass response, thick mids , and not ice pick highs. I currently have a Series 1 Mesa Single Rectifier Solo 50 head, which I switch between, both, clean and od channels however both the clean and od channels gain is set pretty high. I have 2 cabinets (both I am looking to sell). One is a mid 90's Hughes & Kettner cabinet with 35 watt greenbacks and an oversized 2x12 semi open back Soldano with 2-12" Eminence Legend V1216 speakers. My main guitars are all humbucker loaded and the pickups are fairly high outputs.
    1. Should I look for a new 4x12 cabinet? I would like a closed back cab or one that can be open or closed back. My friend has a Mesa Standard (oversized) Rectifier Cabinet that is rated at 240 Watts, V30 Speakers, Wired for Mono or Stereo, 8 Ohm Mono / 4 Ohm Stereo. It sounds sweet (probably since it was made for the rectifier amp series). My hunch is that I am looking for tones that depend too much on speaker breakup but not sure. Do you know any other cabinet models that I should look at? VHT, Vader, Orange, etc?.................OR.................