Speakers for Super Reverb

killa j

Silver Supporting Member
I just acquired a '64 Super Reverb, and I'm giddy like a little kid on Christmas. It doesn't have original speakers, but they are 1968 CTS alnico speakers. This is my second vintage amp, but the first was a head, so I have no experience with old speakers. I did read on here somewhere that the old alnico speakers can be easy to damage (which would explain why you see non-original speakers so often). So I'm thinking I should use a different set of speakers for gigging and keep the alnicos all safe and cozy for when I record something.

I like the description (and price) of the Eminence George Allesandro 10" speakers. Has anyone tried them with a SR or other blackface amp? Are the speakers even something I need to worry about?

Muzzy

Silver Supporting Member
I've seen a lot of old supers with the cts speakers in them and they're still going strong. As long as you're not running the amp at full bore you should be ok.

batfish

the speakers in the super reverb reissue are Jensen P10r Alnico. For a little more money, Jensen has a P10r-f, which is supposed to sound like an old, broken in p10r. The latter option is interesting to me because of thei low efficiency (92.5db) which might allow one to turn up just a little more. The latter speaker was used in the 20th anniversary Vibro-King and the 57 bandmaster reissue, both custom shop amps. either of those options would be pretty expensive, though.

I think the speakers you have are considered the best for that amp, but I can understand wanting to preserve them.

zenas

I'd be looking at WGS Veteran 10s. But I've never tried them in my SR. Just what I'd look into is all.

Stratobuc