special volume pots?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by lordsong, Oct 13, 2006.

1. lordsong

lordsong Member

I'm looking for special volume pots with one specific characteristic : they go for 1 to 10 in about 1/4 of a rotation - instead of the average 3/4 turn.

Anyone know where I can find such a pot or how one could adjust existing ones?

thanx

2. Giraffecaster

Giraffecaster Member

do you want to turn the volume down quickly? What about a momentary switch?

3. lordsong

lordsong Member

thanx for the replies

what i want is a volume control that can go from 1 to 10 in a hurry - for quick volume swells with the pinky - violin like attack

what resistors would i need for this? i have no electronics knowledge and never do my own guitar electrics fixes so...?

4. Junior

AllParts and others sell 'balance' pots that use two pots on one shaft - each pot is 0 -10 from one end to the middle. Using just one side of these might get you closer.

5. lordsong

lordsong Member

thanx again

i have some reading to do eh

i noticed many years ago that i can get this effect very easily by using a gibson style 2 pickup 2 volume control setup

by setting the pickup selector at middle and keeping one of the volumes full up turn the other volume just a 1/4 turn gives one the rapid volume increase

the thing is my favorite guitars are strat styles and they virtually all comme with one master volume - so this trick dont work with strats

and even on gibs it only works with les pauls as all the others either have a master volume or the volume is out of reach of the pinky!

6. alderbody

alderbody Member

I believe, a reverse log pot would do.

7. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member

This has volume pedal written all over it. :)

8. Giraffecaster

Giraffecaster Member

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86DEKFissl4&mode=related&search=

Personally he scares the ba-jeebas out of me but check it out at 2:30