Speed Question/Advice

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by TJe153, Feb 13, 2008.

1. TJe153

TJe153 Supporting Member

Hello Everyone -

To begin, im a self-taught guitar player strumming for about 10 years.

I have a question about speed - It seems when I play, 80% of the time im mostly using wrist/finger movement. Is this normal? Should I change to more forearm/elbow movement?

Additionally, Has anyone had any positive experience with the Gripmaster strength tools? Will these devices increase strength in my fingering hand?

Thanks For any Response in Advance!

2. JonR

JonR Member

Depends. For basic strumming, forearm movement, pivoting at elbow, is best, if tempo allows. You get a more positive response and a firmer sense of time. (Watch pro rhythm players.)
    But other kinds of moves suit different rhythms or tempos. Fast downstrokes, esp with amy damping, obviously need less arm movement (I usually anchor my wrist on the bridge, for better precision).
    Same if you need to be precise about which strings you are hitting, as in arpeggiation, or (of course!) in lead playing.
    The simpler the rhythmic feel, and if the tempo is medium to slow, go for as wide forearm movements as you can manage. (I would also use a thinnish pick for this style, so it bends as it hits the strings, however tight you grip it, and will compensate for the reduced precision of attack. You can then relax more and just swing.)
    Yes, they will increase strength in your fingers. But strength isn't everything!
    I think those things are good to carry with you if you have to be away from the guitar for any length of time.
    Be aware that they don't improve dexterity, flexibility or speed, and don't aid the toughening of fingertips. (Although, after 10 years, I guess yours are OK... ;) )
    Never think of using one in preference to practising on the guitar! If there's a guitar handy, use that!