• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

splatt/DT music...

lucky111

Silver Supporting Member
In 1998, I was an opera student at Portland State University as well as playing guitar, trying to break into some type/any type of "scene" in PDX--my vocal skills were more advanced than my guitar skills regardless of my desire to be a working guitarist, hence the trying to break into, etc.

Around this time I met a beautiful artist named McKinley & saw numerous shows of hers, both solo & with a band. Her current record was called Big Top Shop Talk & I was smitten by both her voice & songwriting as well as the production & playing on the record.

My favorite drummer in the world, Matt Chamberlain, played on the record. It was produced by David Torn, who also played various instruments/sounds. The combination of singable melodies, sophisticated harmonic structure & arrangements of the tunes, & the ethereal nature of DT's guitar work make this one of my favorite records of the last 20 years. If you have never heard it, seek it out!

Mr. Torn--thanks so much for making such beautiful music; this record is a work of art & I've never heard Christine sound more beautiful than in this setting. Well done!

Favorite tracks:
Movie
Buffalo
Lucky Child (This one could fit in the thread about songs that bring tears to your eyes)

Cheers All!
luk

Last edited:

chrisr777

Speaking of splatt, I saw a screening of That Awkward Moment last night. The movie itself was just O.K., but it had a wonderful score by none other than David Torn. Really enjoyed the soundtrack David.

GarMan

Silver Supporting Member
I recently started getting into David's music, because of TGP.

Great Stuff! Love it! :aok

MKB

Silver Supporting Member