Stacking the AC Booster with...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Yngtchie Blacksteen, Apr 15, 2016.

1. Yngtchie Blacksteen

Yngtchie Blacksteen Member

Hi all, I've gone back and forth on the AC Booster, and I've decided to hang on to it rather than selling it. I really like the sound of the AC, great as a low gain bluesy drive, but I would love to see which pedals might complement it for a more versatile sound, as I have very little previous experience with stacking overdrives.

Watching a few vids on this, most notably the very helpful That Pedal Show, it seems logical to pair a somewhat middy pedal like the AC with something a little more like, say, a Soul Food or similar lower gain, Klon-inspired pedals. Norway's not the best country for boutique pedals, so you won't find a lot of those used, but the Soul Food's very popular around here.

Anyone tried this, and if so, what were your thoughts?

(I'm currently running my pedals through a tiny 1W Marshall combo, so the amp will hopefully be replaced with one with more clean headroom in the near future. Should facilitate drive pedals better, since I can't crank this thing anyway.)

2. 65ChampAmp

65ChampAmp Member

When I had one, I liked it with an OCD or a Spark Booster.

You probably already know this, but to bring out the mids in the AC, you cut the bass and treble way down.

3. wundergussy

wundergussy Member

4. Yngtchie Blacksteen

I've got the Hustle Drive by Mooer, and while it may not be a 100% replica of the OCD, its overall character really didn't work for me. I found it fizzy, although it did work well for big rock riffs. I'm no big riffer, so that won't be an issue.

I'll give that a shot, thanks.

Also, to those responding, please say a little more about the sounds you've experienced when using the pedal you mention. Just naming dozens of pedals doesn't help me all that much...

5. 65ChampAmp

65ChampAmp Member