Starting Point for Amp Info/Repair?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by gtrfinder, Mar 10, 2008.

1. gtrfinder

gtrfinder Supporting Member

OK

First of all I'm not an engineer, electrician, amp builder, modifier, or anything of the sort.
    Basically all I'm able to do is change the tubes in my amp. I cannot bias a fixed-bias amp, or even solder for that matter.

I'd like some recommendations on some reading material (via books, the internet, or whatever else is useful) to gain some basic knowledge of electricity and how an amplifier works. Partially for the knowledge aspect (I'm very interested in it), but also because I'd like to be able to bias, and solder, and just have a working knowledge of these sorts of things.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

DISCLAIMER: I realize that there is a great potential for harm when dealing with electricity. It seems that every time a thread is started on biasing here on TGP someone mentions how dangerous it is and that they should probably take it to a tech.
    While I will not discourage you from warning me about the dangers of electrical circuits, I will ask you:
    Please take into account that 1) I have read and are aware of many of these warnings, 2) I do not intend to do anything other than gain some basic knowledge and skills, 3) Take full responsibility for what I choose to do

2. AL30

AL30 Member

The Guitar Amp Handbook: Understanding Tube Amplifiers and Getting Great Sounds by Dave Hunter is a great jumping on point for some basic understanding of tube amps. Again this is a good overview - as you progress you'll want and need more knowledge but for now this should be a good fit.

http://www.amazon.com/Guitar-Amp-Handbook-Understanding-Amplifiers/dp/087930863X

This book does not teach electronics or electricity. If you want that you'll need to look elsewhere.

Hoffman Amps also has some helpful info on line - scroll down.

http://www.el34world.com/schematics.htm