Starting Slide Guitar

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by theHoss, Sep 6, 2006.

1. theHoss

theHoss Member

Howdy,

I just started playing with a larger blues band. We have 3 guitar players, so it gets muddy pretty quick. I was thinking that I might start playing some slide to fill in the spaces. Can someone recomend where I should start. I would consider myself an intermediate player, and a total rookie on the slide. I would like to do the Warren Haynes stuff and stay in a standard tunning, but if changing tunnings is going to open more doors initially, I guess I will just have to break down and buy another guitar.

Thanks for any pointers or thoughts.

Take care!

2. BBQLS1

BBQLS1 Member

You don't have to, but I'd go for the other guitar. I actually need to get another guitar for slide.

3. cpsdawg

cpsdawg Member

standard tuning is fine. open tunings are fine. the most difficult thing to master about slide playing is pitch/intonation. and this is especially true with 2 other guitar players. if you are at all flat/sharp it will sound like a bunch of noodling around s--t. playing slide "right" takes a great ear and lots of practice regardless of the tuning. the thing that makes the guys like warren, derek trucks and duane etc so good is the precision they play with. there is nothing sloppy. so, take your time and really practice. to do it right is much harder than it seems. when you think you have it right, record it and i bet you will be surprised listening back. i'm not trying to discourage you. i have played slide for 15 yrs and i'm amazed how some nights i'm just off. and if i don't use one for a week or so, the intonation is off a little sometimes. i LOVE a great slide player, i'm not one. to me it is AWEFUL to see a band where the slide is a little sharp/flat all nite. equal to a singer who is the same.