Steel picks anyone?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by jo2012, May 6, 2015.

1. jo2012

jo2012 Member

I just ordered some of the Fender Steel Picks and I was wondering if anyone here has an experience with them or any metal picks in general? I've never used a metal pick before, so I'm just wondering what effect did it have on your playing or sound? I also play bass with a pick sometimes so are there any bassists out there who have tried them?

thanks!

2. bgmacaw

bgmacaw Member

I use metal picks about 75% of the time. I mainly use a coin cut to a jazz pick shape, a pick cut from a recycled cymbal or an anodized aluminum pick for regular playing and metal ProPik thumb and finger picks or brass Alaska picks for slide/fingerstyle.

With a metal pick you lose the give of a plastic pick so it has a different feel and attack to it. You'll probably hear that in your playing. You'll also hear some different pick on string sounds.

3. MetalHealth777

MetalHealth777 Member

My brother gave me a pair of 2014 quarters that were cut into picks for Christmas last year. I messed around with them for a little bit but I haven't seriously played with them. Back when I was experimenting with different pick types, I looked at the metal picks, but decided not to because people complained that they destroy strings and can really scratch the finish on your guitar. Again, I have no real experience with them, but that could be a concern.

4. tretremulant

tretremulant Member

I use metal dunlop thumb picks and have for a few years now. I played nothing but classical for about 5 years so when I transitioned back into electric playing it was an ongoing experiment with thumb picks trying to find one that enabled me to use all my fingers and wouldn't spin/slip on my thumb or have the back side of it hook underneath the string I just hit.