Steve Winwood // Blind Faith - "Can't Find My Way Home"

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by tweedfix, Mar 22, 2020.

1. tweedfix

tweedfix Member

2. GuitarsFromMars

GuitarsFromMars Member

3. Mr. Crow

Mr. Crow Member

This band seems like the great "what could have been." Clapton blew it because he had to pretend he was an American blues prophet, and broke up the band. I've always felt the greats from this era embraced their English-ness and let it inform their music. Clapton didn't, and for me his music always suffered because of it.

jgyn, vanderkalin, Renardm and 4 others like this.
  4. vashondan

vashondan Supporting Member

5. Tommyd8

Tommyd8 Member

6. darkwaters

darkwaters Member

Such a great song. I've been playing it for at least 40 years now. Never drifts long out of the repertoire.

wntbtw, Lucidology and Northerner like this.
  7. Kennybeeinfl

Kennybeeinfl Member

I think there was alot more to this groups demise. As Clapton has stated they never had a chance fo develop. Headlining a big tour before they were ready. The whole "supergroup" thing. And he was not into being in another band with Ginger Baker. I think at that point Clapton was fried from the whole Cream thing and all he wanted to do was hang out with Winwood and write and record. I think their one and only album had a fair amount of English-ness on it. Just my observation. The result of that tour was putting The Dominos together and recording the Layla album so as far as his music suffering well l guess that's up for debate.

wntbtw, Flogger59, lhallam and 2 others like this.
  8. sideman

sideman Member

It's interesting how several of those BF songs - this one in particular - have survived through the decades. Continuing vitality reflected in strong artists still covering them. Over a million views on each of the below.

9. Me Again

Me Again Member

Simple. Elegant. About as classic as a song can get. And very well done, again, Mr. Winwood!