• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Strange rings after wet sanding - What is it? (pics)

troyw

Hey all,

I just started on wet sanding a strat build that has tru-oil as the finish. I'm coming up with this weird patterned rings and since this is my first build, I wanted to check and see if this is normal or if I'm in some sort of trouble here. It started right away after sanding wet with 600. I thought maybe it could change after moving up to a higher grade paper but I did the next step and it didn't really change. it's a nice flat surface but I'm a little concerned as to what this is.

This had about 20-30 coats of oil with light sanding and steel wooling between coats here and there.

Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

touji

^ I do too XD

As long as the wood isn't being hurt, I think it would make the guitar look very unique :D

uberpict

Are you using an orbital sander without a felt pad? My guess is the sanding is bringing out high and low spots in the finish. Either that or it's something to do with the fact that oil and water don't mix. Maybe try a little soap in the water to see if it smooths out. It does look really cool, BTW!

troyw

Yeah, it does look interesting only it's not quite what I'm going for ...the front is a hand rubbed burst. I just did a shot of the back since it was easier to see on the black.