Strat Hum - Shielding or Noiseless Pickups?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Bodhisattva, Jan 26, 2008.

1. Bodhisattva

Bodhisattva Member

I have been playing an american standard strat for going on 10 years, love it, but lately the hum is starting to get on my nerves.

For those of you with experience trying to remedy this problem, which method did you find the most satisfying, shielding the innards of the guitar as mentioned in Guitarnuts site (below) or noiseless pickups like the Kinmans etc?

http://www.guitarnuts.com/wiring/shielding/shield3.php

To me the shielding seems like a PITA, whereas the pickups seem like a pretty quick (but expensive) fix, but do you really lose a lot of the tone that makes a strat so appealing in the first place?

I don't mind doing work on gear, but i've realized that the more time i spend tweaking the less time i spend actually practicing and moving beyond the same tired Pentatonic loops i've played for years :D

Thanks

2. jman

jman Member

I have heard a shielding job can do wonders-if you really dig the pickups you have,it's a good way to go. That said,i went noiseless with Dimarzio VV's in one Strat and Kinman's in another...very happy with both.

3. RvChevron

RvChevron Member

Third option would be the Suhr BPSCC.

Seems like the best solution so far.

Shielding (I've tried it) can only get you so far, whereas the BPSSC can remove 80-90% of the hum and keeping the real single tone intact.

4. Bodhisattva

Bodhisattva Member

Good info on the Suhr backplate thing.. i've never even heard of that
    not cheap, but i guess if it works it's worth it..

http://www.fralinpickups.com/bpssc.asp

yes, i really do like the sounds of the stock pickups, this one is a '99 which i think is the "delta tone" era. But lately i've started playing more Si Fuzz into a Marshall kind of thing and the hum is A lot more noticeable, so i wanted to see what my options are.

thanks gents

5. LReese