Strat - SSS or HSS Configuration

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by npsiwak, Jul 16, 2008.

1. npsiwak

npsiwak Member

I am looking to buy a new american strat, and am torn on the pickup configs to go with. I play mostly straightforward rock music, but love the strat feel, and the bell like tones. Recently i started playing a guitar with a bridge HB (Parker P-38), and love the HB sound. I also love the strat for what it does.

How many of you use your bridge single coil? or do you find it often too brittle. Would it be easy to drop back to a standard strat config if i bite for the HSS model? So conflicted whether i should go for "classic strat" or "most versatile"...

What other options do i have? Help me TGP veterans! This will be my first "real" guitar purchase and dont anticipate buying any more soon, so id like this to do as many sounds as possible....

2. MartinC

MartinC Member

American Deluxe with S1 is really versatile. If you went with SSS then the S1 switch will give you 5 thicker, more humbucker like tones (10 different tones available before you've even touched the tone knob!). HSS would give you 9 tones, with a true humbucker in the bridge. I suppose the compromise on either side is:

SSS - no true bridge humbucker tone.

HSS - position 4 on the 5 way switch is a split humbucker + middle single coil, not a single coil bridge + single coil middle. You still get a good approximation of the traditional position 4 tone though.

The other thing I'd think about, depending on your budget, is a Suhr Pro Series. For the built quality, playability and tone you get they're high in the value for money stakes, despite being more expensive than a non-custom shop Fender.

3. testing1two

testing1two Gold Supporting Member