Strat Trems - question

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by roomservice, Feb 14, 2009.

1. roomservice

roomservice Member

Hi there

Anybody got any ideas how to get the stiffness back in my Am Deluxe Trem?

I remember when it was new and shiny and the trem arm would stay parallel to the body lines......nowadays it's all floppy and dangles down...........still works absolutely fine but was wondering if we could put some stiffness back in this trem lol. I was wondering if had something to do with taking the trem out when I put it in its case for going to and from rehearsals??

2. Austinrocks

Austinrocks Member

replace the springs,

3. roomservice

roomservice Member

Hello there

Thanks for the quick response.

I'm an absolute beginner in putting bits in guitars though lol - what springs are you referring to?

Many thanks

rs

4. devilrob1979

devilrob1979 Member

Open up the big plate in the back. You'll see big springs in there. Replace those. Any guitar store's going to have 'em. They're only a few bucks.

5. roomservice

roomservice Member

lol!

I thought those springs were just for the 'springiness' of the trem - not the arm itself?

It's the trem arm that is all floppy - not the trem unit.

Sorry mate - I really am that dense when it comes to guitar parts and I appreciate your patience!

6. bullet69

bullet69 Member

wrap teflon tape around the threads

7. devilrob1979

devilrob1979 Member

This works pretty well. Is your bridge a pop in or screw in? If it's a pop in there will be a small allen head visible on the back of the block when you push the bar fully down. Tighten that up and you're back in business. If it's a screw in the teflon trick works pretty well but it's temorary in my experience.

8. stevel

stevel Member

Wait wait wait!

You mean the arm "spins" freely don't you?