String Gauge and Lead Playing

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Redhouse-Blues, Feb 5, 2008.

1. Redhouse-Blues

Redhouse-Blues Member

As I get more and more into lead playing I'm finding that the 11's I have been using for many years is making it hard for me to play great lead. I'm having a hard time bending a whole step and more each time in tune and my fingers tips are getting sore. So, my guitar teacher has been saying for awhile now to give up on the "Puppet Wire" and go with a lighter gauge.

Any thoughts or experience on this?

If I go down from 11's to 10's how much setup will I have to do on my Strat?

2. Lucidology

Lucidology Member

You'll have to raise your action & do a little intonation...
    Probably not all that much intonating really ...

Plus, you just might like the lower action you'll get wih 10's...
    So maybe, just maybe, a little neck relief ...

Bending should be easier, even with the lower action ....

3. KRosser

KRosser Member

I'd probably want to get a thorough pro setup anyway.

I've been using 10-46 with low action for as long as I can remember

4. steven.rogers

steven.rogers Supporting Member

I moved from 11s to 12s recently on my Strat and I had it set up professionally - did wonders for the playability, so I'd also recommend a pro setup.

5. Redhouse-Blues

Redhouse-Blues Member

Thanks guy's, I was thinking the same thing about the setup. I'm good at basic setup's and keeping my guitar's setup, but's it's time for a really good setup.

It's really been eye opening working on bends and cleaning them up. Doing it makes it easier to see why guy's like Ronnie Earl or Harry J have great tone.

6. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member