Strymon Editors

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by gollumsluvslave, Feb 22, 2014.

1. gollumsluvslave

gollumsluvslave Member

BIG UPDATE:-
    Strymon have released their own editor, Nixie into public beta, and I'd urge anyone who had been using my editors to move to Nixie - bar a couple of features (which are coming) it does everything my editors does but better and much faster. It's really slick!

http://www.strymon.net/nixie-public-beta/

UPDATE:-
    Hey folks,

I've been waiting for Strymon to release a patch editor for Timeline etc for ages, and although we've now got a Librarian app, so far there is no idea on how long an editor will be, so I've decided to start one myself (my day job is a software dev).

The trickiest thing to getting a working editor that can changes patch values, is working out the Sysex data that is needed, and I think I've now solved how to reverse engineer the Sysex messages of each model, although it is a time-consuming process.

Sysex itself is not particularly difficult (see here for a great tutorial)
    http://www.2writers.com/eddie/tutsysex.htm, and if you look at any of the patches shared on the Church Collective for example, the Sysex files allow the reverse engineering; what I have done is basically copy two identical patches ONLY tweak a single parameter (ideally each patch would have it's min and max value), and then save both out single syx files, and check the differences in a Hex editor; this essentially allows me to build up an address map for each of the Timeline parameters and be able to 'edit' these values using a GUI. So far I think (proof will be in the pudding) I have been able to isolate the correct bytes to change for the delay machine and the mix parameters.