• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Strymon Iridium vs Mic'ing amp??

Chris F

So I’m about to start playing with our church orchestra in a few weeks. I’m new to this and have never played live. I’m trying to decide between going to the front of house with my strymon Iridium or micing the small (Samamp 12 VSC) I will be playing. What thoughts do you guys with experience have?

Thanks,

Chris

kdm1218

Silver Supporting Member
If you have an Iridium you will be able to send consistent sound week in and week out to the FOH with it, versus different variables with trying to mic an amp and especially if you have to try to keep it at a lower stage volume if there’s not a way for you to have it set up offstage to crank up and mic.

Guessing you will have in ear monitoring if a direct option is an option?

bobcs71

So I’m about to start playing with our church orchestra in a few weeks. I’m new to this and have never played live. I’m trying to decide between going to the front of house with my strymon Iridium or micing the small (Samamp 12 VSC) I will be playing. What thoughts do you guys with experience have?

Thanks,

Chris
There are other variables. At a church in FL I mic'd a '76 Champ. No one going direct got better tone than I did. All of the sound guys were working pros.
The last church I played at, I was also mic'd. The sound guys were qualified by watching a few YouTube videos. I would have been better off with a direct solution. One guy using a Helix sounded as good or better than any of us amp guys.
So it depends on how good they are at working with a mic'd amp.

What do other guitar players there use? I'd suggest trying what you like most first. If it doesn't work out, change it up.

With the Champ:

Chris F

There are other variables. At a church in FL I mic'd a '76 Champ. No one going direct got better tone than I did. All of the sound guys were working pros.