Studio Monitors around ~$300CDN

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by m4tt, Jan 14, 2008.

1. m4tt

m4tt Member

Any recommendations as to which studio monitors I should invest in around the $300 range (for the pair). I am just starting out and have no idea what to purchase...

2. sdlogan9

sdlogan9 Member

I bought some KRK Rokit 5's from Guitar Center, got them for $200.00 a Pair.

Sound good.

Worth checking out for the price.

Peace
    Shane

3. R.J.H.

R.J.H. Silver Supporting Member

+1. I got a pair during the post-holiday sales and absolutely love em so far. For what I use them for they're perfect.

4. m4tt

m4tt Member

appreciate the input.

...what can I look for when purchasing quality studio monitors?

5. Sunbreak Music

Sunbreak Music Member

Take some CDs that you know well and listen. Most importantly, take some of your mixes and listen to those.

Don't pick the ones that "sound good". Pick the ones that show you the ugly things. ;-)

6. sdlogan9

sdlogan9 Member

+1

ya some of my favorite albums dont sound good through my KRK's

but I have learned to appreciate the raw/natural sounds of some of my favorite artist's... I really enjoy listening to Wilco' through them.. they have some good mixes.

Peace
    Shane

7. m4tt

m4tt Member

I never thought of this - can't wait to try!

8. bmorelli

bmorelli Member

9. rod horncastle

rod horncastle Member

I got the pretty cheap Fostex ones. Around $200 for the pair at Long & McQuades. I've listened to 100's of C.D.'s on them. Very clear. I can hear the reverb on most albums like I've never heard it before. The low-end is alot better than I thought it would be. I still don't see a need for buying a sub yet...YET!

Definitely not the best monitors but I enjoy them alot.

10. erikm5150

erikm5150 Member

The KRK RP5 are about 300 a pair at L&M.
    I got mine more than a year ago... they are very good monitors!

11. meterman

meterman Member