Stupid but Urgent Question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by teetopkram, Jan 23, 2008.

1. teetopkram

teetopkram Member

Hi all -

First - I don't know jack about electricity...I'm a freaking psychology graduate. But here's the deal.

I have one of those Fellowes Power Converter units that I plug into my car's cigarette lighter to power laptops for trips, charge cell phones, etc. Specs on the converter can be found here...

http://www.unitedsale.com/product_in...ducts_id=18416

It's specs read that it puts out 150 watts of continuous power at, 12Vdc, 15A Max., with an Output of 115Vac , 60Hz. It automatically shuts off when power demand is exceeded.

So, my question is...will this be a safe and powerful-enough source of electricity from my cigarette lighter for me to power my Fender '65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue for a demonstration to a local person who wants to buy the amp from me? Given our locations, meeting in a parking lot somewhere is the best way to meet halfway so to speak.

If it helps, the manual to my Fender state that is power specs are "Input: 100W (AC line cord); Fuse Type 2A, 125V:

Thanks in advance for all help.

Mark

2. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    The fact that the amp demands 100 watts and the converter privides 150, would indicate that it's ok.

As always, check it at home first. My gut feeling is that I'm a little surprised, but I've been wrong before.

3. hamfist

hamfist Member

I'm no expert, but your amp wants to see 125V right ? The output numbers you quoted for the device were 150W at 12V. I hope you get my drift.

What is it's output at 125V ?

4. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Good point. I was a bit confused by this (since the car battery is 12 volts, why would a "converter" put out 12 volts? ). There's probably a missing word like "input" where the 12 volts info is in the original post.

There's a bit of missing information and the link for the spec's doesn't work.

5. teetopkram