Subway Rocket...

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by smokehouse4444, Mar 5, 2015.

1. smokehouse4444

smokehouse4444 Supporting Member

I'm a real newb at doing anything with my amps. I've always just taken it to a tech. I'm about to change out the tubes of my old Mesa Boogie Subway Rocket. I was told that JJ's are really good, probably better than the Mesa's. Any suggestions on tubes that people really like for this amp...I really don't want to go over $20 or so for each tube? Also, you just have to take off the back bar, and then unclip the metal around the 12AX7's correct? Other than that it is just swapping them out, no biasing or anything like that?

2. csweldon

csweldon Member

If you use mesa el84s, you definitely won't need to bias. However, for the JJ's, make sure you contact a seller with experience with Mesa amps/tubes. Let them know that they're going in a Mesa, and they'll be able to set you up with a set that's safe for bias free plug and play! I recommend Doug's tubes. Never got a bad tube from them and their customer service has always been great :)

3. JackStraw12

JackStraw12 Supporting Member

preamp tubes don't need biasing. I used Groove Tubes and Sovtek branded tubes when I owned my SR, but the JJ's aren't bad either.

4. smokehouse4444

Hey thanks for the responses. Funny you should mention Doug's Tubes, because I talked to him a bit earlier this week, then I ordered some from him a little earlier (after I posted this thread). Getting the 2 EL84's, and a kit of the 12AX7's. JJ's I believe. Hope I don't blow anything up installing them! :roll:roll:roll

I've loved my little Rocket. I've had it since '96 or so and is a great amp. It gives my 1966 Fender Super Reverb a break...as well as my back on the occasional small jams.

5. Don A

Don A Silver Supporting Member