Suggested Order of Effects?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by 59burst, Mar 29, 2015.

1. 59burst

59burst Gold Supporting Member

I've dabbled with effects over the years, but I'm putting everything together on a board for once as my current band situation will (I think) benefit from more sonic variation.

I'm sort of a dummy when it comes to ordering effects and sites/articles I read on the topic get me part of the way there.

Here's what I have and the order. I am open to suggestions for better ordering or someone telling me what I'm doing wrong! :)

0. Guitar
    1. Barber Tone Press compressor
    2. Cry Baby 535Q wah
    3. Electro Harmonix POG2 octave generator
    4. Menatone Blue Collar overdrive
    5. MXR Carbon Copy delay
    6. Fulltone Choralflange chorus/flanger
    7. Amp

Again, I'm not experienced lining all the effects up; I typically plug in just one or two.

Help is appreciated! Thanks!

2. Pedro58

Pedro58 Supporting Member

I think the way you have it will sound great. My basic rule is: dirt, then delay. Or, really, anything that manipulates gain or EQ first, then any time-based stuff, including modulation like chorus, reverb, or flanging. The only thing that seems to make a huge difference in where it goes, for me, is the wah pedal. For that, you'll have to experiment and see what you prefer. I ended up with fuzz->wah->distortion.

Your POG2 might be one you could move around. Not sure about that one. My thoughts would be to try it last...

3. 59burst

Thanks for your comments. I came up with this order after reading a bunch of articles and yes the POG2 seems to be the one I can't quite classify.

I like having the Choralflange after it because I can sort of simulate a Leslie with it, so a B-3 emulation in the POG2 going into the CF sounds pretty good in a band context. But I haven't tried the POG2 last - I might give that a go.

4. hotmod

hotmod Member