Suhr SSCII owners - how quiet is your guitar? (My new one isn't)

Arcadia

Silver Supporting Member
Hi all,

So I have this new Suhr Classic S that I bought online. I got it because I can't deal with hum, and I wanted to be able to use my Strat neck pickup. I thought about getting a set of noiseless pickups for my Am Pro Strat, but in the end decided to take a chance and just "upgrade" to a Suhr.

My Strat is SSS, and the hum is what one would expect:
1 loud hum
2 dead quiet
3 loud hum
4 dead quiet
5 loud hum

Positions 1, 3, 5 all have equally loud hum. I know some people don't mind it but I personally find those positions unplayable. I'm pretty new to Strats so it's not something I've learned to grow used to. Humbuckers are quiet. The guitars I've played the most, my classicals, are dead quiet. :D

Onto the new Suhr, which is HSS:
1 quiet (humbucker)
2 dead quiet
3 low hum
4 low hum
5 dead quiet

I mostly use position 4, but I also like position 5, which I can't use on my Strat. So I was happy that position is really quiet on the Suhr. Unfortunately, position 4 is not. Position 3 is same as 4. It's not as loud as a Strat single coil, maybe half that loud or a bit less, but still enough to mildly annoy me.

It's not a great trade for me to get a quiet position 5 while adding noise to position 4.

I'm really surprised by this, since the neck by itself is so quiet. Considering that it's easy to make position 4 quiet, and position 3 also makes noise, I'm wondering if something might be wrong with the SSCII system/wiring of the middle pickup that is causing the noise.

Very interested in hearing other folks experience with this system. Is your 4 position quiet? I'm actually hoping it's an issue ... then I'll just contact Suhr support, and they can fix it. I just want some more information from the community before taking any action.

I'm otherwise pretty happy with the guitar.

Husky

All