Super Reverb Experts

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Souled Out, Dec 17, 2005.

1. Souled Out

Souled Out Member

I am demoing a 75 SR. The store wants $1200 for it. I've seen some 63 and 64 models for around $1800 and up. What are the main differences between the seventies version and early sixties models? I've pretty much given up on the new reissues after some inquries here. Thanks for your help.

2. stump

stump Member

I'm no expert but here it goes. Up to 1967 they were " Blackface" 40 watts no master volume. 1968 to about 1971 or 1972 they were "Silverface" 45 watts with no master volume. After that they were, I think, Silverface 70 watts with master volume. The " Blackface" is the most desireable with the 1968 - 1971 being next. I picked up my 1970 for $600 already converted to " Blackface" specs. I think $1200 is too much. It sounds like a Guitar Center price. But it's up to you, play it and if you like it buy it. Happy Hunting.

3. Profklamen

Profklamen Supporting Member

I agree with stump. $1200 is too much if you are in the US. $600 - $800 is the range that these go for. For $1200 you can get a very clean 68 or 69 or mayber even a blackface if you look around a bit.

4. hasserl

hasserl Member

There were more variations. I have a '77 silver face SR w/, 45 watts, w/ 5U4 tube rectifier, Master Volume & Pull Boost.

Like I mentioned in another thread yesterday, if you do not use the pull boost and leave the Master Volume wide open the circuit is basically the same as a bf SR, with some minor changes in the PI circuit.

BTW, it sounds very good.

5. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    I agree that $1200 is high (unless it has great tubes in it and has had a cap job recently) but $600 to $800 sounds like "cornfield" pricing. If you're near a major city (with internet access;)) , I don't think you'll find one that cheap.