Surf Green Cunetto Tele Year?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Gavin, Aug 9, 2006.

1. Gavin

Gavin Supporting Member

I picked up this '97 Cunetto relic'd tele the other day because the color was just too cool to resist. No COA but all the markings on the neck and body add up (including color code). I hear Vince hangs here so maybe he can tell me more. What I'd really like to know is what year reissue is this? It was sold to me as a '59 but I'm kinda new to the Fender world and don't know how to verify the model year specifically. Thanks!

[​IMG]

Gavin

2. Gavin

Gavin Supporting Member

Any help on what year reissue this is?

Gavin

3. Berlin Chris

Berlin Chris Member

From a photo it is hard to tell if it is a "real" Reissue. Usually the Cunettos had a flatter fretboard radius and a strong broadcaster bridge pickup, making them some kind of an inaccurate copy compared to the real thing. Btw, Fender has come up with lots of limited runs over the years which makes identifying even harder.There are sooo many variations over the same theme(s).

But congrats, it sure looks great (and 59ish) and maybe the tele experts over at www.tdpri.com know the answer. Good luck...

4. Gavin

Gavin Supporting Member

Chris,
    Thanks for the heads up to the tele forum. I'll have to check it out.

I'm 100% sure that its a Cunetto era Tele (I've taken it apart and photo documented the guitar and all its markings). I'm more concerned of what year reissue it is and at this point I'm pretty sure its a '59 because of the placement of the "Fender Telecaster" on the headstock. I'll post a picture of the headstock tonight.

Gavin

5. hunter

hunter Supporting Member

59s are toploaders. "Standardized" custom colors 1960 and later. Slab rosewood fingerboard Sept 59 to mid 62.

hunter

6. mrfjones

mrfjones Member