Swamp Thang in a Deluxe Reverb

Damian13

Howdy,
I mainly play post-rock and indie-rock. Recently installed a Swamp Thang in my DRRI, hoping to get better bass and a bit more volume. So far I'm not overly impressed. I've only played through it for a couple hours though.
Does anyone have experience with these? How long is break in time?
Do they improve much?
Thanks

Damian13

Thanks mate. Really appreciate the feedback
I'm in Australia, and it's pretty hard to find certain speakers in stores. I have to order from the U.S. I was on the fence over an ST and a RW&B
Was thinking I chose wrong. But I'll give it a couple band rehearsals before I give up on it

kevmin

Silver Supporting Member
I might be in the minority, but I like a nicely broken in UK made Vintage 30 in mine. I have no experience with the newer Chinese Celestions though.

Damian13

I just thought I'd update this, just in case someone finds it useful in future.

So I put about 40 hours at gig volume into the Swamp Thang. It did improve a little. But always stayed a bit stiff. Sounded ok with my strat and les paul. It was a bit bassy with my thinline tele. And a bit too ice picky with my jaguar.
It's not a bad speaker. It's very clear. It's very "modern" sounding. Very present. And definitely louder than the Jensen C12K.
However it wasn't what I was looking for.
My sound is more Radiohead, The National, and PJ Harvey from Stories From The City...

I've just installed a Cannabis Rex. After less than an hour, I can already tell this will be the speaker for me in this amp.
My jaguar (my main guitar) still sounds like a bright guitar, but it's a nice bright. It's treble instead of ice pick.
Hope this helps

parkhead

I use the swamp thang and have found it to be slow to break in. I treated my cone with acetone and this helped a tremendous amount. The acetone dissolves some of the lacquer in the cone making it softer more like the rex.