Swapping 6L6 to 6V6 - change impedance ?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by TheWayfarer84, Feb 20, 2012.

1. TheWayfarer84

TheWayfarer84 Supporting Member

I have a Silvertone 1483 that I replaced the 6L6's with 6V6's for a lower volume around the house. Do I need to change the impedance of the speaker? Stock the amp is a 2 6L6 30W, only running about 350V on the plates and an 8ohm speaker. I do not believe there is a second tap on the OT, but I'm not 100% positive as I am relatively new to reading schematics.

Thoughts?

2. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    Ideally you'd want to double your speaker load (impedance) when going from 6L6s to 6V6s, but it's usually safe in this situation. Make sure the 6V6s are biased properly or they won't live very long.

3. guitarcapo

guitarcapo Senior Member

Usually I've found that using the same OT impedance, the amp sounds less bright when you plug in 6V6 tubes.

4. TheWayfarer84

That's exactly what's going on. It sounds a little dull.

5. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Maybe you don't like the 6V6s are they're not biased properly. When you change multiple variables at the same time it's often impossible to figure out what's causing things to happen.

6. Sweetfinger

Sweetfinger Supporting Member

I ran my 1483s into 16 Ohm loads for years without trouble. When you look at the schematic, it looks like the amp was designed for 6V6s but then used 6L6s so that the tubes would probably never come back for warranty. The 1483 with its low voltage and tube rectifier is really easy on 6L6s.

7. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

A lot of people get away with lots of things. Is that reason enough to recommend it to someone else? (rhetorical)

8. TheWayfarer84

I have not checked the bias with 6v6s

9. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member