Switched from Kemper to AX8...

JerEvil

Vendor
Yup. Did the dirty. This is my first time using any Fractal stuff. Already wanting the Axe-II XL.

Initially offed the Kemper for strategic reasons. My rig was almost as bulky as my tube rig and I was starting to get burnt out hunting for profiles.

I am also having a custom guitar built. Selling the Kemper allowed me to pay off the guitar and cover the AX8. Figured if the AX8 didn't work out, Id just buy another Kemper. Easy peasy.

Did you ever see the movie "Millers Crossing"? I liken myself to Gabriel Byrne's character "Tom" in this scenario. I told myself I'd get another Kemper before the year is up and have both but honestly leaning towards the Axe II as I said.

Anyway, that is all. Still think the Kemper is killer and will likely get another in the future. Certainly no rush though.

Also, I gotta say, the AX8 is pretty damn easy to dial up good sounds. I expected a lot more tweaking and pulling out of hair.

I do need to learn how to use the onboard controls though.

scook

Also, I gotta say, the AX8 is pretty damn easy to dial up good sounds. I expected a lot more tweaking and pulling out of hair.

This is the best bit of consumer feedback to know about the AX8. Hard to learn the controls compared to Helix, but still easy as hell to dial in an amazing tone in minutes or even seconds.

JerEvil

Vendor
This is the best bit of consumer feedback to know about the AX8. Hard to learn the controls compared to Helix, but still easy as hell to dial in an amazing tone in minutes or even seconds.
Yeah. I literally got a preset with 5 different scenes done along with figuring out my button assignments in less than 30 minutes total tweak time.

Gearzilla

Yup. Did the dirty. This is my first time using any Fractal stuff. Already wanting the Axe-II XL.

Initially offed the Kemper for strategic reasons. My rig was almost as bulky as my tube rig and I was starting to get burnt out hunting for profiles.